Events 2017-18

Upcoming Events

Monday 3rd April 2017
Paul Robinson (The Laughing Gardener) – Pests, Diseases and Poisonous Plants

 

Monday 8th May 2017
Tony Harding – The Spirit of Japanese Gardening

 

Monday 5th June 2017
Garden Visit – Whyncrest, Hunmanby YO14 9RS

A conducted tour of the garden by the owners, with refreshments.
Meet at the garden at 6.30pm.
£6.00 per person

 

Monday 3rd July 2017
Visit – To Scarborough Parks & Gardens with Roger Burnett

Following his talk last year, Roger will take us on a guided walk around some of the parks and point out the historic planting.
Meet at Dean Rd Cemetery at 6.30pm. YO12 7QS

 

Saturday 29th July 2017
Summer Social

Margaret & Steve Shaw will host the social at 109, Scarborough Road, Norton YO17 8AA from 6pm. Results of the potato competition and something to eat (bring some food ie salad or pudding) and something to drink.

 

Monday 4th September 2017
John & Gail Summerfield – Gardening at the Front.

An illustrated talk looking at the challenges of new gardens at the front, or back, of the house.
Plants for sale.

 

Monday 2nd October 2017
Helen Marsden – The History of the National Garden Scheme.

Helen is the East Yorkshire organiser for the NGS.

 

Monday 6th November 2017
Clive Dawson – An Oasis in the City

An illustrated talk about the story of York Cemetery.

 

Monday 4th December 2017
Jeff Andrews – Anecdotal Stories from a Removal Man

Christmas fun and some refreshments too!

 

Monday 5th February 2018
Club Night

A new fund raising venture for the club, please come along and support your club and enjoy and entertaining evening!

 

Monday 5th March 2018
AGM Followed by Peter Walker – Wicked Carnivorous Plants

Some plants to see and buy!